Lunch at Whitecross Street food market

A lunchtime meander to Whitecross Street food market is always cheering. What awaits when you’ve squeezed through the scrum  of hungry suits is well worth it.

My firm favourite is Luardo’s burrito van.  As a vegetarian, I can only report second-hand on the fleshly offerings (chicken, pork, beef and chorizo) – but given the beams of my carniverous friends as they tuck in, the meat burritos are good.   For my money (£4.50), the veggie black bean burrito is the king of lunches.  Creamy guacamole, smoky beans and tangy salsa pack a seriously flavourful punch.  If my stomach could fit them in, I’d eat two.

The coffee stall at Pitch 42 opposite Luardos has my perfect post-lunch pick-me-up. It’s just £1.50 for a smooth, sweet espresso that puts nearby cafes to shame.

Other tasty morsels are medlies of curries, crunchy stir fries, deep salads, crisp Hoxton Beach falafel, bread, olives, cakes, galettes, tapas, pasta.  Food to make the spreadsheets that little bit more bearable.

1 thought on “Lunch at Whitecross Street food market

  1. Pingback: Five coffee shops in East London « Gonerby

Leave a comment